Trying out the wide angle macro technique

It’s been a while since I’ve gone on a leisure insect photography walk. Today I had the opportunity to walk around a small ecological garden in the middle of the city, where one of the students showed me a large caterpillar, Pachylia syces (ID by Dr. Andrew Warren). I took this shot with my usual 100mm macro lens.

Pachylia syces caterpillar

However, having seen some fantastic wide angle macro work by Piotr Naskreki and other amazing photographers, I thought I’d give it a try. There’s still plenty of room to improve, but overall I’m quite pleased with my two first tries. They really do add a lot of context to the images!

A Pachylia syces caterpillar inching its way down from a Cecropia tree.

A Pachylia syces caterpillar inching its way down from a Cecropia tree.

A closer shot of the caterpillar

A closer shot of the caterpillar

I will definitely try this technique again soon! It works best with larger subjects, like beetles and frogs, but I really enjoy the added context.

Leave a Reply

