Pre-NMW 2013

We are currently in the middle of National Moth Week, and I am organizing a mothing event in a biological station (trying to, at least; I was supposed to leave yesterday but I had car trouble). I’ve been there several times and the moth diversity is astonishing: big/small, colorful/inconspicuous, with pointy or rounded wings, they’re all there.  I’d like to show you a few specimens that you can find there; I focused on macrolepidopterans when I took pictures, because they were less skittish than microleps.

A classic Automeris

A classic Automeris

Who said moths had dull colors?

Who said moths had dull colors?

Wasp mimics are a common sight at the light trap

Wasp mimics are a common sight at the light trap

Patterns and markings abound

Patterns and markings abound

Like I said, plenty of wasp mimics!

Like I said, plenty of wasp mimics!

And finally, one of my personal favorites, the Dog-faced moth:

Looks like a dachshund or a basset hound

Looks like a dachshund or a basset hound

This is barely a small fraction of the astonishing moth diversity you can find there (not to mention other arthropods), and I hope to be able to photograph and collect a lot more that I have in past visits. If everything goes well and I manage to go, I’ll write a post-NMW 2013 post sometime next week after processing data and images.

 

 

Leave a Reply

